That doesn’t look like a quilt to me…

My grandfather, Hudson Wren, had two sisters, Mildred and Norvelle. Norvelle never married and Mildred and her husband, Henry Whitten, never had any children.  The two of them lived across the street from each other from the time that Mildred and Henry were married in 1920.  No doubt there will be much written about these folks as time goes on.  They were pretty special, all of them.

After Mildred died, her furniture and things were put into storage.  She had a beautiful, small cedar chest that I thought would look nice in my apartment.  Mom said that if it was okay with Norvelle, I could have it, but that she wanted the quilts that were in it.

So, the next time I was in Prescott (Nevada County, Arkansas), Norvelle and I set about cleaning out the cedar chest.  There were some beautiful quilts in it that I think I eventually ended up with, anyway.  But, we set them aside that day for Mom.

At the bottom of the chest, we found an envelope with a little note that said “Merry Christmas, 1921” from Henry’s mother (Mildred’s mother-in-law), Christine Holston Whitten.  In the envelope, we found this 1881 $5 gold piece!

Norvelle looked at me and said “That doesn’t look like a quilt to me.  Put it in your pocket.”  So, I did.  And I still have it!

Leave a Reply

